St. Vincent (2014)

81b941c294d2ab27_stv_online_poster_3_final_4_

The “unlikely friendship” story here lends itself to predictability, and even some specifics of its climax are telegraphed in an early scene thanks to its title, but it remained powerful in its message and emotional pull (I bawled), largely thanks to Murray’s wonderful performance as Vincent- a well-written character that adds some unexpected grit to the film by going beyond the cliche grumpy but loveable old man. Watts and Lieberhe are also good in this predictable but poignant and funny film.
7.5/10 (Really Good)

7 Comments

  1. Nice review. I liked this, despite the general predictability. Come to think of it, I half-expected it to be predictable, so that really wasn’t a problem for me. Murray is great, as always, but I was particularly pleased to see Naomi Watts shed her usual dark roles for something lighter.

    Like

Leave a comment